Summary

Synapses are the central information processors in the brain. Their function, efficacy and plasticity are key determinants of all brain functions, and of the corresponding behavioral output. Conversely, aberrant synapse function is the cause of many neurological and psychiatric disorders. Our ultimate objective is to generate a functional virtual synapse, in silico, that covers both the presynaptic and postsynaptic compartments.

null

RESEARCH INFRASTRUCTURE

This CRC 1286 builds on extensive infrastructure that has been built over the last decade by many institutions,...

DETAILS

... ranging from the Excellence Initiative to measures promoted by the German Research Foundation (DFG), the German Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF), the Max Planck Society, and the State of Lower Saxony.

null

TEAM MEMBERS

Our Team consists of 27 principal investigators and one worker of coordination.

DETAILS

They are Scientists of different institutions in the region of Göttingen and join forces with each other for research purposes.

null

PROJECTS

The CRC 1286 works interdisciplinary (see research Infrastructure). It is divided into 3 research areas.

DETAILS

Project area A – C, one associated and three central projetcs support our research to take some more steps towards future.

Progress of research

Synapses are the central information processors in the brain. Their function, efficacy and plasticity are key determinants of all brain functions, and of the corresponding behavioral output. Conversely, aberrant synapse function is the cause of many neurological and psychiatric disorders. Our ultimate objective is to generate a functional virtual synapse, in silico, that covers both the presynaptic and postsynaptic compartments.
Over the first funding period we proposed to obtain a wide set of molecular, structural and functional data on a prototypic, averaged model synapse, while only engaging a few computational projects. For the second funding period we envisioned refining these data by further wet-lab experimental work, while at the same time enhancing strongly the computational aspects, by recruiting new computational neuroscience projects into the CRC. Finally, the work will culminate in the third funding period, in which we will rely even more heavily on in silico modelling.
We followed this plan closely during the first funding period, and we are “on schedule” with regard to most aspects. We determined the locations of many synaptic organelles and proteins, their copy numbers, their movement rates, their metabolic turnover, several of their post-translational modifications, and their interactomes. We also performed multiple analyses of neuronal and synaptic RNAs and lipids. Finally, we initialized several modeling projects, in which collaborations with experimentalists were employed to provide an understanding of defined synaptic processes.
During the second funding period, we will continue our work along these lines, while strongly enhancing the computational aspects. As we proposed in 2017, we more than doubled the number of computational projects, which now address multiple aspects of synaptic transmission, from protein movement and nanoscale organization to long-term dynamics and plasticity. The completion of these projects will place us in an optimal position to establish synapse function models in the third funding period.
Our synaptic models will be used to answer questions on synaptic function and dysfunction, and will be extremely important in the context of connectomics efforts, since they will suggest the functional responses of synapses in given connectomes, thereby greatly increasing the functionality of structural connectomes.

3D Model of a Synapse

The movie displays a rotating example of a rat neuronal synapse with differing sets of protein types.
The synaptic membrane types comprise the plasma membrane, 375 vesicles, 7 endosomes and one mitochondrion.
They were modeled from membrane coordinates of several layers. The number and location of 62 different protein types were analyzed so that they could be placed accordingly inside the synaptic cytosol and on the synaptic membranes. In total, the protein count reaches 300,000.

THE NANOSCALE DYNAMICS OF PROTEINS IN THE SYNAPTIC BOUTON

Eine Standbildansicht der Proteinbewegung neben dem synaptischen A still view of the protein motion next to the synaptic vesicle cluster. Each molecule is color-coded according to its diffusion coefficient in the place of its current location. Darker violet colors indicate lower diffusion coefficients.

A view of soluble protein movement in the synapse. Only synaptic vesicles (grey shapes) and soluble proteins are shown, the plasma membrane surrounding the synapse is transparent. Each colored shape is a single protein molecule, with the molecules of the same protein type having the same color and shape.

laboratory of Prof. Silvio Rizzoli

News

Events

Keine Veranstaltungen
Menu

Allgemein

Synapsen sind die zentralen Prozessoren von Informationen im Gehirn. Ihre Funktion, Effizienz und Plastizität sind der Grundstein aller Gehirnfunktionen und dem daraus folgenden Verhalten. Abweichende Synapsenaktivität ist, im Gegenzug, der Grund für viele neurologische und psychiatrische Störungen. Es ist unser Ziel, eine funktionale, virtuelle Synapse in silico zu erstellen, die sowohl die Prä- als auch die Postsynapse umfasst.

null

FORSCHUNGSINFRASTRUKTUR

Wir profitieren von einer umfangreichen Infrastruktur, die in den letzten zehn Jahren von vielen Institutionen aufgebaut...

DETAILS

... und durch die Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) und der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft sowie dem Land Niedersachsen unterstützt wurde.

null

MITGLIEDER

Das Team des Sonderforschungsbereichs besteht aus 27 Teilprojektleiterinnen und -leitern sowie einer Koordinationskraft.

DETAILS

Sie stammen aus den unterschiedlichsten Institutionen im Raum Göttingen und haben sich zu Forschungszwecken zusammengefunden.

null

PROJEKTE

Der Sonderforschungsbereich 1286 arbeitet interdisziplinär (siehe Forschungsinfrastruktur) und ist in 3 Forschungsbereiche unterteilt.

DETAILS

Projektbereich A – C, ein assoziiertes sowie drei zentrale Projekte unterstützen unsere Forschung in Richtung Zukunft.

Forschungsverlauf

Synapsen sind die zentralen Informations-Prozessoren im Gehirn. Ihre Funktion, Effizienz und Plastizität sind die Schlüsseldeterminanten aller Gehirnfunktionen. Umgekehrt bedeutet dies, dass eine anormale Synapsenfunktion die Ursache vieler neurologischer und psychiatrischer Störungen ist. Unser Ziel ist es letztendlich, eine funktionelle virtuelle Synapse in silico zu generieren, die sowohl das prä- als auch das postsynaptische Kompartiment umfasst.
Während des ersten Förderzeitraums orientierten wir uns daran, eine breite Palette molekularer, struktureller und funktioneller Daten zu einer prototypischen, gemittelten Modellsynapse zu erhalten und dabei nur wenige Computerprojekte durchzuführen. Für die zweite Förderperiode hatten wir uns vorgenommen, diese Daten durch weitere experimentelle Arbeiten im Nasslabor zu verfeinern und gleichzeitig die rechnerischen Aspekte stark zu verstärken, indem neue Projekte im Bereich „Computational Neuroscience“ in den Sonderforschungsbereich eingebracht werden. In der dritten Förderperiode werden die Arbeiten ihren Höhepunkt erreichen, in der wir uns schwerpunktmäßig auf die in-silico-Modellierung stützen.
Wir sind dem Plan zur ersten Förderperiode genau gefolgt und liegen bezüglich der Ansätze überwiegend im Zeitplan. Wir haben die Lokalisation vieler synaptischer Organellen und Proteine, die Anzahl ihrer Kopien, ihre Bewegungsgeschwindigkeiten, ihren Stoffwechselumsatz, mehrere ihrer posttranslationalen Modifikationen und ihre Interaktome bestimmt. Wir führten auch mehrere Analysen von neuronalen und synaptischen RNAs sowie Lipiden durch. Wir haben auch verschiedene Modellierungen initialisiert, an den Experimentalwissenschaftler beschäftigt waren, um ein Verständnis für definierte synaptische Prozesse zu liefern.
In der zweiten Förderperiode werden wir unsere Arbeit fortsetzen und gleichzeitig die „computational“ Aspekte verstärkt erweitern. Wie wir in 2017 beabsichtigt hatten, haben wir die Zahl der „computational“ Projekte mehr als verdoppelt. Diese befassen sich nun mit mehreren Aspekten der synaptischen Übertragung, von der Bewegung von Proteinen und der Organisation im Nanobereich bis hin zur Langzeitdynamik und Plastizität. Die Fertigstellung dieser Projekte wird uns optimal positionieren, um in der dritten Förderperiode Modelle der Synapsenfunktion zu etablieren
Unsere synaptische Modelle werden genutzt, um offene Fragen zur synaptischen Funktion und Dysfunktion zu klären und werden in Zusammenhang mit den Arbeiten der Konnektomik von großer Bedeutung sein, da unsere Modelle die funktionellen Reaktionen von Synapsen in gegebenen Konnektomen klären werden, wodurch die Funktionalität von strukturellen Konnektomen erhöht wird.

3D Modell einer Synapse

Der Film zeigt eine sich drehende neuronale Synapse der Ratte mit verschiedenen Proteingruppen.
Die synaptischen Membrantypen sind: die Plasmamembran, 375 Vesikel, 7 Endosomen und ein Mitochondrion.
Diese wurden aus Membrankoordinaten mehrerer Zellschichten modeliert. Von 62 verschiedenen Proteintypen wurde Anzahl und Lokalisation bestimmt, so dass diese entsprechend im Synapsenzytosol bez. auf den synaptischen Membranen positioniert werden konnten. Insgesamt handelt es sich um ca. 300,000 Proteine.

DIE NANOSKALIGE DYNAMIK VON PROTEINEN IM SYNAPTISCHEN BOUTON

Eine Standbildansicht der Proteinbewegung neben dem synaptischen Vesikelcluster. Jedes Molekül ist gemäß seinem Diffusionskoeffizienten anstelle seines aktuellen Standorts farbcodiert. Dunkle violette Farben zeigen niedrigere Diffusionskoeffizienten an.

Ein Blick auf die Bewegung löslicher Proteine ​​in der Synapse. Es sind nur synaptische Vesikel (graue Formen) und lösliche Proteine ​​gezeigt, die die Synapse umgebende Plasmamembran ist transparent. Jede farbige Form ist ein einzelnes Proteinmolekül, wobei die Moleküle des gleichen Proteintyps die gleiche Farbe und Form haben.

laboratory of Prof. Silvio Rizzoli

News

Veranstaltungen

Keine Veranstaltungen
Menü